Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Pulama: Reviews

Maureen

June 12, 2012

This group was one of the most beautiful musicians we've had at events. They played beautiful, traditional Hawaiian music that was more beautiful than what we've heard on the Islands. I would hire them again in a heartbeat.

Maureen - Eventwire.com (Jun 12, 2012)
Brooke Anderson
Event Coordinator at Visions & Promises Event Planning
February 27, 2012
 
I hired Pulama for my wedding in October of 2011. Jim and Paula were very professional and friendly. When I heard their music on their website I knew it was exactly what I was looking for, but when I heard them play for me in person, I was blown away by their talents. Jim is a fantastic guitarist and singer and Paula's voice is amazing! Together they invoke emotion and a real Hawaiian vibe with their music. Working with them was a real treat because they are both so sweet and kind, and they really go above and beyond to make your experience perfect!
Thanks Pulama, you really gave me a wedding I have always dreamt of, I will never forget it thanks to you both!

Phyllis

July 28, 2012

This was such a wonderful experience with Pulama it is hard to know where to begin. They offered to come a week early to meet with us and discuss all of our special requests and also check out the site to judge how to set up. The night of the event they came hours early to ensure they would have everything in place and working properly. They managed to learn multiple song requests from as far back as 1932! and performed them so sweetly for our honoree. Jim and Paula could not have been more accommodating, flexible or wonderfully musical in all details. TX to Pulama our event had a very special dimension.

Phyllis - Eventwire.com (Jul 28, 2012)

Christine

July 21, 2012

I contacted Pulama for my mom's 70th surprise party. I was looking for an authentic sounding Hawaiian band (since my mom was born and raised there) and came across their website. Paula was so quick to respond and their communication was great. Jim plays the steel guitar so beautifully and the harmony between Paula's and Jim's voices were amazing. Their sound is so soothing and authentic. There is such peace and purity about them. I wanted 3 specific songs played that night and they played them all. I have not seen my mom hula in many years and it brought tears to my eyes to see her hula that night. I cannot say enough about them and would definitely recommend them to anyone!! Mahalo again Paula and Jim for helping make the day so special.

Christine - Eventwire.com (Jul 21, 2012)

Cyndie Raposa

August 27, 2012

I am sitting here thinking about my father's 70th Birthday celebration,[July 28, 2012] in which Pulama was the sole entertainment scheduled. My father, whose health has been quickly deteriorating, was born and raised in Honolulu. We all (mom and siblings) wanted to make his birthday celebration something special for him. We never really expected just how incredibly special Pulama would make the evening. Please accept my heartfelt thanks and appreciation for all of your hard work, your prior preparation, your utmost professionalism and most of all your exquisitely beautiful music. What a magical experience we all had. So many of our guests (many are native to Hawaii) complimented us on our choice of music and performers. Thank you for accommodating the special requests. You were spot-on perfect!!! In fact your rendition of 'Blue Darling' brought a tear to my father’s eye. You should know I have never seen my father cry, or get choked-up, or sentimental like that ….ever. You must be something special.

Adrienne

July 28, 2012

Pulama played at my father's birthday party in July and was WONDERFUL. Everyone commented on their talent as well as them accommodating our special requests. I would highly recommend Pulama.

Adrienne - Eventwire.com (Jul 28, 2012)

Edward Ohde

March 6, 2012

Amazon Customer Review –  The Song Within The Song

 

This is a sweet and satisfying gem of island music from the Bay Area.

Jim and Paula have a magnificent harmony to accompany Jim’s slack key prowess.

If you favor island music or long for the magic of Hawaii, this is the album for you.

Seldom heard selections bring true Hawaiian artistry to light.

A great treasure and a group not to be missed.

Fiona M.

July 17, 2011

I had Pulama play at a party at my house and they were fantastic!!It was soothing when needed, hopping when we were and just down right entertaining! Brought all my friends together in a lovely way!! Highly Recommend them!!

Fiona M. - Thumbtack.com (Jul 17, 2011)

Mitch

July 17, 2011

I think of Jim Romano as the guitarist (maybe because I used to play guitar), and Paula Rudman as the singer. In fact, they are a beautifully matched singing duo; but when he's playing solo, Jim is not only a masterful and sensitive guitarist, but also a very sweet singer. Pulama's performances range from playful to deeply moving, and I am eagerly awaiting their second CD.

Irene M.

July 17, 2011

I love to go to King Tsin restaurant on the Friday afternoon once a month when Jim Romano is playing slack-key guitar and singing Hawaiian songs. I even stay in the area in order to return and hearJim and Paula singing Hawaiian music together that same evening - so beautiful to hear, and so relaxing, especially in these stressful times!

Irene M. - Thumbtack.com (Jul 17, 2011)

Pili H.

July 16, 2011

As an officiant specializing in weddings based on Hawaiian tradition, it has been my pleasure to work with Pulama and to recommend them to my couples.

Their gorgeous Hawaiian music is matched only by their professionalism, warm hearts, and dedication to making your wedding, party, or other event relaxed and memorable.

Pili H. - Thumbtack.com (Jul 16, 2011)

Lee and Shoshana K.

October 10, 2010

If I could give them more than 5 stars I would. We absolutely loved them. From beginning to end, they were the best. They just made us feel at ease. They worked with us, and did such an amazing job. I would recommend them to everyone. I just cannot say how WONDERFUL they are.

Carolyn M.

Jul 24, 2010

I would highly recommend Pulama if you want high quality Hawaiian style music. Jim and Paula were very professional. About 2 months before the wedding they met with us to look at the wedding venue and talk about the songs we wanted played. We must have spent two hours with them. They brought a possible list of songs and played and sang for us. It was a wonderful experience. The day of the wedding they came early to set up. Everyone at the wedding and reception loved them. If you use Pulama, you are in for a truly exceptional experience.

Sacha Kawaichi

Feb 2, 2010

I listen to your amazing cd all the time. What beauty.

Thanks for sharing it with us.

You guys are truly wonderful.

Pulama will forever remain close to our hearts, both in the soulful connections that have been made between our families and through the timeless gift of the music you have created.

Most heartfelt thank you for embracing in your music our beloved daughter, Adriane Sage, and for extending such warmth and Aloha in this gesture.

We never imagined that so many of our thoughts, emotions and dreams for "Sage" could be captured so beautifully and so precisely by another. Truly amazing how this has been accomplished through your song. Priceless. Many, many thanks!

Warmest Aloha,
Sage's Mommy, Daddy and Grandparents

 

Lisa Mendiola-Flores

 

L

September 26, 2009

2009 Pulama performed at a large community event I help organize, Spirit of Japantown, in San Jose. They were a central part of the entertainment on the Hawaiian Stage; I received excellent feedback on their performance from both the audience and organizing committee. Paula and Jim are lovely to work with - they love what they do and it shows in the aloha spirit they share in their music. I would definitely recommend them and look forward to working with them again in the future!

L - Eventwire.com (Sep 26, 2009)

Robin

Jul 31, 2009

Soon after booking (within weeks), I received a folder containing song lyrics in both Hawaiian and English and a CD of music, both vocals and instrumentals. We picked out the songs we liked, decided on the order in which we wanted them performed, and emailed the info. Everything was handled conscientiously and professionally; Jim even came to Sacramento a week early to meet with our onsite wedding coordinator and confirm technical details (electrical hookups, equipment placement, etc.) for our outdoor ceremony. And did I say the music and vocals were fabulous?

Robin - Wedding Wire Inc. (Jul 31, 2009)

CG

May 30, 2009

Pulama performed absolutely beautifully for our wedding. They have so much love and aloha running through their music, it was so special to have them play. They are also a joy to work with. Jim and Paula learned a song to play especially for our wedding and were exceptionally accommodating. We really enjoyed every aspect of having them play. Mahalo Pulama!!

CG - Wedding Wire Inc. (May 30, 2009)

David M.

Jul 22, 2008

Pulama was the best. They were on time and very professional at all times.We felt very comfortable with them, all most like they were family. I would recommend them over and over to all of our friends and family. I want to Thank them with all of our hearts. I would also like to say that Pulama came with everything that they needed to play and sing with so there was no drama. Set up and take down was fast and clean and that is the way you want your engagement party to be. Mahalo, Ps we would love to have them back for our 5th anniversary!

My office enjoyed a really lovely Valentine's Day/Friday the 13th Hawaiian singing telegram from Jim & Paula. They were a delight and we'll absolutely refer or use them again.

 

Deidre Von Rock

Aloha Jim & Paula,
Your music has brought such joy to all the residents at Aegis Living both times you have performed. Everyone always wants to know when you will play again. Thank you for giving them something wonderful to remember and look forward to.

Aloha,
Teiko

Thank you again for the nice Aloha gram.
My family loved it!

Aloha,
Gretchen Sandler

Jim & Paula,
You two & the leis were a hit!
The Aloha-Gram entertainment made the day much more memorable.

Glenn Kwan

Aloha Jim and Paula,
It's great to see you in our town !
You guys are so nahenahe.

Mahalo,
Doug Wong

I have enjoyed listening to Paula and Jim for years now, and revel in the memory of their soothing sound! Catch them whenever you can!

Best Wishes to Pulama,
Neal McGowan

Next Page >>