Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Pulama: Reviews

Such a perfect duo to set the tone for our Aloha themed wedding reception.
Jim and Paula are professional, gracious and provided beautiful Hawaiian music.
Our celebration was filled with the Aloha spirit and Pulama was a big part of that.

Pulama played at our wedding reception in October. Four months later, they are still the highlight memory of the day. So many people asked and complimented us on their voices and music. It really made a great day even greater! We can't wait to invite them to our anniversary parties!

Pulama is a beautiful celebration of Hawaiian music. I have followed them for several years whenever they perform at a public venue. I have their 2 CDs as well. Paula and Jim performed at my wedding reception in June 2017 and from that event they gained many more fans! Their music is loving and delightful. Jim is a very talented musician.

Jim Romano was a blessing! It is difficult to accurately articulate how amazing Jim truly was at our wedding.

He performed our ceremony music live at the San Francisco Zoo. We wanted to play unique music to fit our style and Safari-themed wedding, and he did not even hesitate to learn all four songs in their entirety. He even recorded the full-length versions and sent them to us with recommendations based on the length of the processional. Now we have our ceremony songs to remember the best day of our lives forever; the best gift we could have asked for.

Jim was such a delight to work with as he responded quickly to our emails, proactively sent us messages about our wedding day, and made our ceremony truly unforgettable. I would highly recommend Jim for any event, especially a wedding, to make your day even more perfect.

I cannot more enthusiastically recommend Pulama. Their beautiful performance during and just-after our wedding ceremony set the perfect tempo and mood for the event. Composed/experienced professionals, Pulama performed flawlessly even when faced with playing much longer than expected and needing to adapt to the other (multiple!) limitations of our venue. Pulama was key in helping us incorporate music that had personal meaning to us, even offering to learn/adapt new music for us. I knew we had picked the perfect group when a guest approached me afterwards (an experienced musician) and said, "I've heard a lot of hawaiian bands, but they're VERY GOOD!"

Paul - WeddingWire (Oct 26, 2013)

Jim and Pulama went above and beyond. They came to the venue a couple weeks before the big day just to get familiar with the area, demo different songs to see which ones we wanted for our wedding, they even added/learned new songs to their set because they had sentimental value to us. These guys came to the rehearsal and practiced the timing of the music with the ceremony and first dance. Their professionalism is the best I've ever seen. The quality of their music is amazing. They had us crying with the purity of the vocals and instruments, they set the exact romantic under the sea mood we wanted. They made all our guests feel like they were on the islands, one of our dear friends whose actually Hawaiian royalty said he felt like he was home. We can't thank you guys enough! You truly made our wedding unique and amazing and filled with so much love!! mahalo nui loa :)

Alisha - WeddingWire (Aug 3, 2013)

I am sitting here thinking about my father's 70th Birthday celebration,[July 28, 2012] in which Pulama was the sole entertainment scheduled. My father, whose health has been quickly deteriorating, was born and raised in Honolulu. We all (mom and siblings) wanted to make his birthday celebration something special for him. We never really expected just how incredibly special Pulama would make the evening. Please accept my heartfelt thanks and appreciation for all of your hard work, your prior preparation, your utmost professionalism and most of all your exquisitely beautiful music. What a magical experience we all had. So many of our guests (many are native to Hawaii) complimented us on our choice of music and performers. Thank you for accommodating the special requests. You were spot-on perfect!!! In fact your rendition of 'Blue Darling' brought a tear to my father’s eye. You should know I have never seen my father cry, or get choked-up, or sentimental like that ….ever. You must be something special.

This group was one of the most beautiful musicians we've had at events. They played beautiful, traditional Hawaiian music that was more beautiful than what we've heard on the Islands. I would hire them again in a heartbeat.

Maureen - Eventwire.com (Jun 12, 2012)
I hired Pulama for my wedding in October of 2011. Jim and Paula were very professional and friendly. When I heard their music on their website I knew it was exactly what I was looking for, but when I heard them play for me in person, I was blown away by their talents. Jim is a fantastic guitarist and singer and Paula's voice is amazing! Together they invoke emotion and a real Hawaiian vibe with their music. Working with them was a real treat because they are both so sweet and kind, and they really go above and beyond to make your experience perfect!
Thanks Pulama, you really gave me a wedding I have always dreamt of, I will never forget it thanks to you both!

This was such a wonderful experience with Pulama it is hard to know where to begin. They offered to come a week early to meet with us and discuss all of our special requests and also check out the site to judge how to set up. The night of the event they came hours early to ensure they would have everything in place and working properly. They managed to learn multiple song requests from as far back as 1932! and performed them so sweetly for our honoree. Jim and Paula could not have been more accommodating, flexible or wonderfully musical in all details. TX to Pulama our event had a very special dimension.

Phyllis - Eventwire.com (Jul 28, 2012)

I contacted Pulama for my mom's 70th surprise party. I was looking for an authentic sounding Hawaiian band (since my mom was born and raised there) and came across their website. Paula was so quick to respond and their communication was great. Jim plays the steel guitar so beautifully and the harmony between Paula's and Jim's voices were amazing. Their sound is so soothing and authentic. There is such peace and purity about them. I wanted 3 specific songs played that night and they played them all. I have not seen my mom hula in many years and it brought tears to my eyes to see her hula that night. I cannot say enough about them and would definitely recommend them to anyone!! Mahalo again Paula and Jim for helping make the day so special.

Christine - Eventwire.com (Jul 21, 2012)

Pulama played at my father's birthday party in July and was WONDERFUL. Everyone commented on their talent as well as them accommodating our special requests. I would highly recommend Pulama.

Adrienne - Eventwire.com (Jul 28, 2012)

Amazon Customer Review –  The Song Within The Song

 

This is a sweet and satisfying gem of island music from the Bay Area.

Jim and Paula have a magnificent harmony to accompany Jim’s slack key prowess.

If you favor island music or long for the magic of Hawaii, this is the album for you.

Seldom heard selections bring true Hawaiian artistry to light.

A great treasure and a group not to be missed.

I had Pulama play at a party at my house and they were fantastic!!It was soothing when needed, hopping when we were and just down right entertaining! Brought all my friends together in a lovely way!! Highly Recommend them!!

Fiona M. - Thumbtack.com (Jul 17, 2011)

I think of Jim Romano as the guitarist (maybe because I used to play guitar), and Paula Rudman as the singer. In fact, they are a beautifully matched singing duo; but when he's playing solo, Jim is not only a masterful and sensitive guitarist, but also a very sweet singer. Pulama's performances range from playful to deeply moving, and I am eagerly awaiting their second CD.

I love to go to King Tsin restaurant on the Friday afternoon once a month when Jim Romano is playing slack-key guitar and singing Hawaiian songs. I even stay in the area in order to return and hearJim and Paula singing Hawaiian music together that same evening - so beautiful to hear, and so relaxing, especially in these stressful times!

Irene M. - Thumbtack.com (Jul 17, 2011)

As an officiant specializing in weddings based on Hawaiian tradition, it has been my pleasure to work with Pulama and to recommend them to my couples.

Their gorgeous Hawaiian music is matched only by their professionalism, warm hearts, and dedication to making your wedding, party, or other event relaxed and memorable.

Pili H. - Thumbtack.com (Jul 16, 2011)

If I could give them more than 5 stars I would. We absolutely loved them. From beginning to end, they were the best. They just made us feel at ease. They worked with us, and did such an amazing job. I would recommend them to everyone. I just cannot say how WONDERFUL they are.

I would highly recommend Pulama if you want high quality Hawaiian style music. Jim and Paula were very professional. About 2 months before the wedding they met with us to look at the wedding venue and talk about the songs we wanted played. We must have spent two hours with them. They brought a possible list of songs and played and sang for us. It was a wonderful experience. The day of the wedding they came early to set up. Everyone at the wedding and reception loved them. If you use Pulama, you are in for a truly exceptional experience.

I listen to your amazing cd all the time. What beauty.

Thanks for sharing it with us.

You guys are truly wonderful.

Pulama will forever remain close to our hearts, both in the soulful connections that have been made between our families and through the timeless gift of the music you have created.

Most heartfelt thank you for embracing in your music our beloved daughter, Adriane Sage, and for extending such warmth and Aloha in this gesture.

We never imagined that so many of our thoughts, emotions and dreams for "Sage" could be captured so beautifully and so precisely by another. Truly amazing how this has been accomplished through your song. Priceless. Many, many thanks!

Warmest Aloha,
Sage's Mommy, Daddy and Grandparents

 

Lisa Mendiola-Flores

 

2009 Pulama performed at a large community event I help organize, Spirit of Japantown, in San Jose. They were a central part of the entertainment on the Hawaiian Stage; I received excellent feedback on their performance from both the audience and organizing committee. Paula and Jim are lovely to work with - they love what they do and it shows in the aloha spirit they share in their music. I would definitely recommend them and look forward to working with them again in the future!

L - Eventwire.com (Sep 26, 2009)

Soon after booking (within weeks), I received a folder containing song lyrics in both Hawaiian and English and a CD of music, both vocals and instrumentals. We picked out the songs we liked, decided on the order in which we wanted them performed, and emailed the info. Everything was handled conscientiously and professionally; Jim even came to Sacramento a week early to meet with our onsite wedding coordinator and confirm technical details (electrical hookups, equipment placement, etc.) for our outdoor ceremony. And did I say the music and vocals were fabulous?

Robin - Wedding Wire Inc. (Jul 31, 2009)

Pulama performed absolutely beautifully for our wedding. They have so much love and aloha running through their music, it was so special to have them play. They are also a joy to work with. Jim and Paula learned a song to play especially for our wedding and were exceptionally accommodating. We really enjoyed every aspect of having them play. Mahalo Pulama!!

CG - Wedding Wire Inc. (May 30, 2009)

Pulama was the best. They were on time and very professional at all times.We felt very comfortable with them, all most like they were family. I would recommend them over and over to all of our friends and family. I want to Thank them with all of our hearts. I would also like to say that Pulama came with everything that they needed to play and sing with so there was no drama. Set up and take down was fast and clean and that is the way you want your engagement party to be. Mahalo, Ps we would love to have them back for our 5th anniversary!

Next Page >>